Monday, 11 October 2021

Šeparović Reelected Constitutional Court President

ZAGREB, 11 Oct 2021 - The Constitutional Court on Monday re-elected its president Miroslav Šeparović for another four-year term in office, the court said in a press release.

Šeparović has been at the helm of the court since 2016. His new term expires on 12 October 2025.

The president of the Constitutional Court is elected at a closed session by secret ballot, and seven out of 13 votes are necessary for the Court's head to be chosen. Šeparović has been head of the Constitutional Court since 2016. He was first elected in June 2016, and in October 2017 he was re-elected for a term of four years.

Šeparović told Hina today that the aim of his new term "is to boost the efficiency of the Constitutional Court" and improve the court's ratings.

Šeparović, born in the town of Blato on the island of Korčula on 18 July 1958, graduated from the Law School of the University of Zagreb in 1981. In 2013 he earned a doctoral degree.

He was the justice minister from 1995 to 1998 and performed some other high-level public duties.

For more on politics, CLICK HERE.

Friday, 19 February 2016

Croatian Parliamentary Parties Discuss How to Avert the Constitutional Court Crisis

If the Parliament does not elect new justices by May, the Constitutional Court will have only six remaining justices, which is not enough to make any decisions.