Croatian Basketball Cup “Krešimir Ćosić” to Return to Zadar

By 29 January 2016

In memory of Krešimir Ćosić.

The finals of this year’s Croatian Basketball Cup “Krešimir Ćosić” will be held in Zadar on 17 and 18 February 2016, in a hall which bears the name of the basketball great. That is the decision made by the Managing Board of the Croatian Basketball Federation. In this way, the organization of the Krešimir Ćosić Cup finals will return to Zadar after seven years, reports Vecernji List on January 29, 2016.

The candidacy for the organization of the competition has been jointly submitted by the Basketball Association of the Zadar County and the S Event company which has already proven itself with successful organization of several other important basketball tournaments.

“When the tender for the organization of the Krešimir Ćosić Cup finals was announced, we had a meeting of the Supervisory Board of the Zadar Basketball Club. Unfortunately, he had to conclude that the club at present is not able to organize the Cup due to organizational and financial situation. However, I had no doubts and I immediately suggested that the organization should be taken over by the County Basketball Association of which I am president. I made a few phone calls, and you know the rest – the finals will be held in Zadar and I look forward to everything which will happen here”, said Željko Predovan, president of the Organizing Committee.

“The City of Basketball” has enthusiastically received the news. The Zadar Basketball Club has been waiting for a trophy for as many as eight years, and many see this as a great opportunity for Zadar to finally win it. “I am happy. We have returned the Krešimir Ćosić Cup to where it belongs. We have excellent cooperation with the County Association led by president Željko Predovan”, said Zdenka Zrilić, director of S Event company.

In addition to the Zadar Basketball Club, the tournament will include Kvarner 2010 and Cedevita. The fourth participant will be decided by a quarter-final match between Jolly JBS and Cibona, which is scheduled for 10 February.

The most trophies in the history of the Krešimir Ćosić Cup have been won by Cibona, which was the best as many as seven times. Zadar has six trophies, Split five, while Zagreb and Cedevita have three. The title will be defended by Cedevita which won the last year's finals in Vukovar. Who will get this year's first major basketball trophy in Croatia will be known on Thursday, 18 February.