Croatia Calls on Its Citizens to Leave Ukraine

By 12 February 2022
Pixabay License
Pixabay License Free for commercial use

ZAGREB, 12 Feb 2022 - Croatia has advised its citizens to leave Ukraine, joining other countries that have done the same for fear of a Russian attack on the country.

Croatians are also advised to avoid travel to Ukraine, particularly to areas along the border with Russia and Belarus and near the separation line with the temporarily occupied areas of the Crimea and Donbas, the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs said in a statement on Saturday. 

Those who cannot leave Ukraine are advised to exercise caution and contact the Croatian Embassy in Kyiv.

The United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Denmark, Latvia, Estonia, Australia and New Zealand have earlier urged their citizens to leave Ukraine. Sweden, Spain, Italy, France, Saudi Arabia and Jordan did the same on Saturday.

As the list of countries withdrawing their citizens is increasing, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskiy on Saturday spoke out against spreading panic, saying that it only helped the enemy.

Concerns have been growing for months that Russia, which has amassed troops along the Ukrainian border, is thinking of invading Ukraine. Russian-backed rebel forces already control eastern parts of Ukraine, and Russia annexed the Crimean Peninsula in 2014.

Russia denies any such plans. It, however, has used the attention focused on the region to express its fears that NATO has come too close to its territory, demanding that the Western alliance withdraw from what Russia regards its own sphere of influence.

For more, check out our politics section.