Croatia and Bulgaria Declared by Germany as Covid High-risk Areas

By 24 October 2021
Croatia and Bulgaria Declared by Germany as Covid High-risk Areas

ZAGREB, 24 Oct, 2021 - Germany added Croatia and Bulgaria to areas high-risk for Covid-19 on Sunday, triggering a minimum five-day quarantine for unvaccinated or unrecovered travellers arriving from the two countries, the dpa news agency reported on Sunday.

On Friday the Robert Koch Institute announced that Germany had decided to add Croatia to its list of COVID-19 high-risk countries, which means that people who have not been vaccinated or have not recovered from COVID-19 will have to self-isolate for 10 days on arrival from Croatia. Travellers arriving from high-risk countries will be allowed to end their self-isolation after five days if they present a negative test or a vaccination certificate.

 The institute also noted that the decision came into effect on Sunday.

"Three other European Union members - Romania, Lithuania and Slovenia - were already on the list overseen by Germany's Robert Koch Institute (RKI) for disease control," the dpa news agency reported today..

"Globally, some 70 countries are classified high-risk Covid-19 areas by Germany. Anyone who has not recovered or been fully vaccinated and returns to Germany must go into quarantine for 10 days. This period can be shortened if they test negative after five days," dpa says.

In addition to Croatia and Bulgaria, Cameroon, Singapore and the Republic of the Congo were added on Sunday. Kenya, Kosovo, Iraq and Honduras were removed.

For more on COVID-19, follow TCN's dedicated page.

For more about Croatia, CLICK HERE.