'The Constitution' First to Win Three Major Awards at Raindance Film Festival in London

By 1 October 2017

The Constitution was awarded best film, best screenplay and best performance.

Rajko Grlić's film ‘The Constitution’ triumphed at the London Raindance Film Festival which took place from September 20 to October 1, 2017. 

At the leading independent film festival in the UK and Europe, the Croatian love story about hate won the best film, the best screenplay (Rajko Grlić and Ante Tomić) and the best performance (Nebojša Glogovac). Thus, ‘The Constitution’ has become the first film in the 25-year history of the Raindance Film Festival to take home three major awards, reports Dalmatinski Portal on October 1, 2017. 

The focus of the Raindance festival is independent and unconventional films, and the motto of this year's edition was “Discover. Be discovered”. The audience and the jury recognized the value of ‘The Constitution’ which asks the question of whether someone immersed in prejudice and hate can find love in someone so different from them. 

The Panoptic of the film at Raindance read that 'The Constitution' was: "Funny, endearing, and incredibly pertinent, director Rajko Grlić and screenwriter Ante Tomić have created a modern masterpiece in the slice-of-life film". The Screen Daily reported that “The Constitution triumphed at Raindance”. 

Since 1993, the Raindance Film Festival has revealed some of the most significant authors of today. The British premieres at the festival, among others, included films such as ‘Pulp Fiction’, ‘Memento’, ‘The Blair Witch Project’ and many others. The festival is officially recognized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences USA, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts and the British Independent Film Awards. 

This year, among the award-winning directors, was Zachary Cotler and Magdalena Zyzak for the film 'Maya Dardel', while 'In Another Life' by Jason Wingard was named best feature film from the U.K. Guy Ritchie received the second Raindance Auteur Award for his achievements in film and contributions to the film industry.

‘The Constitution’ has so far received 26 awards since its international premiere in Montreal in 2016, where it was awarded the prestigious Grand Prize of the Americas. This award was followed by a series of presentations and awards at festivals all over the world including the International Film Festival in Santa Barbara where the film was awarded the Jeffrey C. Barbakow for Best International Feature Feature Film, and the European Film Festival in Lecce the film was awarded the best script, the best actor (Nebojša Glogovac) and the audience award. Actors Ksenija Marinković and Dejan Aćimović were awarded at the International Film Festival in Milan, and at the Pula Film Festival, they took home four Golden Arenas and the 'Fedora' European Film Critics Award. ‘The Constitution’ is also nominated for the European Oscar, which is awarded by the European Film Academy.

The film’s achievements can be credited to director Rajko Grlić, screenwriter Ante Tomić, producer Ivan Maloča, executive producer Maja Vukić, director of photography Branko Linta, composer Duke Bojadziev, art director Željka Burić, costume designer Leo Kulaš, editor Andrija Zafranović, make-up artist Ana Bulajić Črček, sound engineer Nenad Vukadinovic and sound designer Srdjan Kurpjel. Nebojša Glogovac, Ksenija Marinković, Dejan Aćimović and Božidar Smiljanić appear in the leading roles of the film. The film was produced by Interfilm from Zagreb and was co-produced by In Film Prague, Revolution Production Skopje, Sever & Sever Ljubljana, HRT Zagreb, NP7 Zagreb, and Film & Music Entertainment London. The film was co-financed by the Croatian Audiovisual Center, Croatian Radio Television, the Film Foundation Czech Republic, the Macedonian Film Fund, the Slovenian Film Center, and Eurimages – European Cinema Support Fund. The film was developed with the support of Creative Europa - MEDIA, Croatian Audiovisual Centre, and the City of Zagreb. 

Translated from Dalmatinski Portal